EU adopts fresh sanctions on Russia against nearly 200 individuals and entities

By: James Frater

The European Union adopted its 13th package of sanctions against Russia on Friday, including a further 194 individuals and entities responsible for hostile actions against Ukraine.

It said the addition of “106 individuals and 88 entities” to the sanctions list is primarily in “the military and defense sectors and associated individuals, including those involved in DPRK [North Korea] armament supply to Russia.”

The sanctions also target “members of the judiciary, local politicians and people responsible for the illegal deportation and military re-education of Ukrainian children,” and aim to limit Russia’s access to military technologies, such as drones.

Almost 2,000 individuals and entities have been sanctioned since Russia launched its full-scale invasion of Ukraine nearly two years ago, the EU said.

The measures include asset freezes and travel bans, which prevent them from entering the EU.

The entities targeted in the latest package are based in “India, Sri Lanka, China, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Thailand, and Türkiye [Turkey]” and are said to have been “involved in the development, production and supply of electronic components for Russia’s military.”

Related Articles

Back to top button