Egypt’s new cabinet to be sworn in today

The head of Egypt's ruling military council will swear in 14 new Egyptian ministers Monday after the prime minister decided to reshuffle his cabinet in response to protests.

Thirteen ministers survived the reshuffle, including the ministers of housing, interior, justice, planning and international cooperation, social solidarity, environment, tourism, manpower and immigration, information, education, electricity and energy, and petroleum.

The proposed new ministers include: 

Higher education: Moataz Khorshid, former computers and information dean at Cairo University

Telecommunications: Hazem Abdel Azim, former Information Technology Industry Development Agency director

Health: Amr Helmy, former head of the Monufiya liver institute

Transport: Ali Zine al-Abidine, former engineering professor at Ain Shams University

Finance: Hazem al-Beblawy, economic expert 

Water resources and irrigation: Hesham Mohamed Qandil

Trade and industry: Ahmed Fekry Abdel Wahab

Antiquities: Abdel Fattah al-Banna

Foreign affairs: Mohamed Kamel Amr, former ambassador

Islamic endowments: Mohamed Abdel Fadil al-Qousy

Agriculture: Salah al-Sayyid Youssef

Civil aviation: Lotfy Mostafa Kamel

Local development: Mohamed Ahmed Attiya

Military production: Ali Ibrahim Sabry 

Ali al-Selmy was named deputy prime minister for dialogue affairs and Beblawy, nominated for finance minister, was also named deputy prime minister of economic affairs.

Translated from the Arabic Edition

Related Articles

Back to top button