Egypt takes exceptional measures for arrivals from 7 African countries over Omicron

Egypt has changed travel rules as a precautionary measure to limit the spread of the new coronavirus variant; Omicron and its transmission through travelers.

Egypt has taken several exceptional measures to limit any possibility of the mutated virus reaching Egypt, foremost of which came by taking strict precautionary measures towards the countries in which the new coronavirus Omicron is prevalent.

The measures are active especially with the seven African countries (South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini).

In the case of indirect arrival (transit) through Cairo Airport, and the established procedures for conducting a rapid DNA test were applied through modern detectors to discover mutated strains of coronavirus.

This is within the state’s plan to combat the spread of the virus.

Non-Egyptians are not allowed to enter from the listed Omicron prone countries and the airline is obligated to return any positive cases and further more positive cases from Egyptians will be transferred to the Fever Hospital where all necessary measures are to be undertaken.

As for negative test cases, the traveler performs a home self-quarantine for a period of 7 days, and continues to be followed up for further seven days through the quarantine team until the end of the maximum period of the virus incubation period.

A PCR test is done at the end of the quarantine period, provided that the airlines are notified of the procedures especially with regard to the need for the passenger to sign an acceptance form which stipulate the procedures for self-quarantine before boarding the plane.


Related Articles

Back to top button